top of page

Delfine Fakten

atlantic-bottlenose-dolphin--jumping-hig

Delfine sind Wale mit kleinen Zähnen, die leicht an ihrem gebogenen Mund zu erkennen sind, der ihnen ein dauerhaftes „Lächeln“ verleiht. Es gibt 36 Delfinarten, die in jedem Ozean zu finden sind.  Die meisten Delfine sind Meerestiere  und leben im Meer oder im Brackwasser entlang der Küsten. Es gibt jedoch einige Arten, wie den südasiatischen Flussdelfin und den Amazonas-Flussdelfin oder  boto, die in Süßwasserbächen und Flüssen leben.

r1108366_13445262.jpg

Delfine ernähren sich hauptsächlich von Fischen und Tintenfischen, die sie mithilfe von Echoortung verfolgen, einem eingebauten Sonar, das Schallwellen von Beute abprallt und Informationen wie Standort, Größe und Form preisgibt. Eine Echoortung  Großer Tümmler  kann bis zu tausend Klickgeräusche pro Sekunde erzeugen.

Delfine leben in Schoten, die ein Dutzend oder mehr umfassen können, und sind intensiv  soziale Säugetiere, die kommunizieren  mit Quietschen, Pfeifen und Klicken. Ob Delfine wie Menschen Sprache haben,  ist ein Thema, das Wissenschaftler seit Jahrzehnten diskutieren.

Als Säugetiere haben sie warmes Blut und säugen ihre Jungen. Delfine haben mehr als einen Partner und produzieren im Allgemeinen a  einzelne Nachkommen  die je nach Art bis zu sechs Jahre bei der Mutter bleiben.

Delfine sind anmutige, schlanke Schwimmer, die Geschwindigkeiten von mehr als 18 Meilen pro Stunde erreichen können. Sie sind auch verspielt und tummeln sich oft im Kielwasser eines Bootes und springen aus dem Wasser – möglicherweise zum Spaß, um zu kommunizieren oder sogar lästige Parasiten zu vertreiben.

Dolphin hat Bedrohungen, hier sind ein paar. 

Seit Jahrhunderten jagen Menschen Delfine wegen ihres Fleisches und Specks. Heute besteht ihre größte Bedrohung darin, versehentlich in kommerziellen Fischernetzen gefangen zu werden. Delphine müssen regelmäßig an die Oberfläche steigen, um zu atmen – das Verfangen in Netzen verhindert dies und führt zum Ertrinken. Für Maine-Delfine hat die Erwärmung der Ozeantemperaturen aufgrund des Klimawandels dazu geführt, dass einige ihrer Hauptnahrungsquellen in tieferes, kühleres Wasser gewandert sind. Hinzu kommen offenbar auch marine Hitzewellen, die ebenfalls durch den Klimawandel verursacht werden  einen negativen Einfluss haben  auf die Fortpflanzungsrate und Überlebensfähigkeit von Delfinen. 

Neben der Jagd und dem Verfangen in Fanggeräten sind Süßwasserdelfine der zusätzlichen Bedrohung ausgesetzt, dass Dämme den Lebensraum fragmentieren und degradieren.

Informationen mit freundlicher Genehmigung von  https://www.nationalgeographic.com

bottom of page

Dolphin Facts

Dolphins are small-toothed cetaceans easily recognizable by their curved mouths, which give them a permanent “smile.” There are 36 dolphin species, found in every ocean. Most dolphins are marine and live in the ocean or brackish waters along coastlines. There are a few species, however, like the South Asian river dolphin and the Amazon river dolphin, or boto, that live in freshwater streams and rivers.

Dolphins feed chiefly on fish and squid, which they track using echolocation, a built-in sonar that bounces sound waves off prey and reveals information like its location, size, and shape. An echolocating bottlenose dolphin can make up to a thousand clicking noises per second.

Living in pods that can number a dozen or more, dolphins are intensely social mammals that communicate with squeaks, whistles, and clicks. Whether dolphins have language, as humans do, is a topic that scientists have debated for decades.

As mammals, they have warm blood and nurse their young. Dolphins have more than one mate, and generally produce a single offspring that will stay with the mother for up to six years, depending on the species.

Dolphins are graceful, sleek swimmers that can reach speeds of more than 18 miles an hour. They are also playful and often frolic in a boat’s wake, leaping out of the water—possibly for fun, to communicate, or even shed pesky parasites.

Dolphin do have threats, here are a few. 

For centuries, people have hunted dolphins for their meat and blubber. Today, their main threat comes from being caught accidentally in commercial fishing nets. Dolphins must rise regularly to the surface to breathe—becoming entangled in nets prevents this, leading to drowning. For maine dolphins, warming ocean temperatures because of climate change have caused some of their primary food sources to move into deeper, cooler water. Furthermore, marine heatwaves, also caused by climate change, appear to have a negative affect on dolphins' reproductive rates and ability to survive. 

In addition to hunting and entanglement in fishing gear, freshwater dolphins face the additional threat of dams fragmenting and degrading habitat.

Information courtesy of  https://www.nationalgeographic.com

We offer all types of tours.  

  • Eco Tours, Fort MyersBeach

  • Dolphin Tours Fort Myers Beach

  • Shelling Tours Fort Myers Beach

  • All our Tours and Charters leave Fort Myers Beach and can be customized to fit your needs.

  • We can also take more than 6 people on our tours and can carry up to 15.

  • Cancelation Policy: 

  •  If we cancel your trip due to weather conditions or any reason outside of your own, we will give a full refund.  If you cancel 48 hours or more before the reservation we will give a full refund.  However, if you cancel inside of the 48 hour period then a $100.dollar cancellation fee will be charged or withheld from your refund. We do not provide discounts or refunds if it rains while on your tour.

logo-noaa.png
logo-dolphin-smart.png

Created by Sun-N-Fun Tours & Charters 2019
captdan@sunnfuncharters.com

logo-uf-ifas.png
logo-florida-see.png